Update letter, Oct. 2011

Anniversaries
We had a whole-house flood the other night…again. We had one last year around this time. Harley did a bunch of work on the drainage system so that it shouldn’t have happened again, but what can you say? It did. The funny thing was that it caused all of us to realize how differently we each handled it this time compared to last time. Last year, I sat on the wet couch and cried. I wanted to go back to the US. I was sure we had made a mistake. Oh, and I had no idea how on earth you empty a whole house of an inch of water. This year, we all grabbed brooms and mops and shovels and went to work. It took over 2 hours, in the dark because, of course, the power is out when it rains that much, but we did it. We all worked together and kept the worst of it at bay. Harley’s writing a children’s book about it, Kaden wrote a personal narrative for class and I was able to be thankful for my men who worked so hard.
All this got me thinking about all the one-year anniversaries we are having. We keep saying to each other “remember how you felt last year at this time?!” In many and most ways things are so much better. There are still some things that are hard. Somehow I love the feeling that we are building a history here together.
Another wonderful “2nd annual” that we recently celebrated was a “shoe-shine boys” party. My ladies Bible study was inspired to throw one last year and it was such a hit we wanted to do it again this year too. One of our supporters generously sponsored this one! We drive around town in our vehicles and yell at all the street boys to come to a party. They come running and climb all over our cars. We head out of town with them to a friend’s property and throw them a party. Picture the Pied Piper of Jarabacoa! We run and play and zip-line and wrestle with the boys and then feed them. We often end the evening with a movie projected on a sheet. That is a special treat as there are no movie theaters in town. We see these boys around town everyday-they carry our groceries, watch over our cars and now, they give us hugs and hold our hands. That’s an anniversary I am so thankful to be having.
So often my years run together. I miss the little things that are so special. Our move here has left such a bold line in time that it helps me to see and remember more of these times. Some are big deals and some are small-I know we are in mango season but this year I know it will end so I enjoy them all the more. I am thankful for the realization that at times last year, I was sure we would never make it but now, here we are, moving into “2nd annuals.”
Abby, Harley, Kaden, Tavin & Logan

About harleymc31

My wife Abby and I are missionaries in the Dominican Republic, working as a High School Math and Science teachers at Doulos Discovery School. We are joined by our three boys, aged 9, 7, and 5 who attend the same school and bring us untold joy every day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, update letters. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

