Who will “come”?

I heard the screaming in the front yard and dropped what I was doing and ran. Tavin was lying on the ground crying after having a bike wreck. He was ok but bruised and scratched. I comforted him and helped him into the house. I got him some ice and his book and got him resting for a minute. As I kissed his forehead and prepared to head to the kitchen he looked at me and said, “I’m just glad you came, mom. Thank you for coming to get me.” I teared up as I said, “of course, Tav,” because I was thinking about how many kids don’t have someone to come, how we should be thankful to have a mom who comes. It isn’t “of course” for a lot of kids. Orphans and abandoned kids don’t have anyone to “come.” They fall and they learn to just pick themselves up. If you ask me today why we’re adopting, it is so that a few more kids have a mom who will “come.”

About harleymc31

My wife Abby and I are missionaries in the Dominican Republic, working as a High School Math and Science teachers at Doulos Discovery School. We are joined by our three boys, aged 9, 7, and 5 who attend the same school and bring us untold joy every day.
This entry was posted in Adoption. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

